US Marines Ranks

The US Marines, like all other branches of the military, has a complex hierarchy of ranks that determine who has authority over whom. While Marines ranks are divided into three general categories (enlisted, warrant officer, and commissioned officer), there are numerous divisions within each category.

Want to find out more about joining the US Marines? Fill out this no obligation form to receive information.

Enlisted Marines

The US Marines has a total of nine titles for enlisted Marines. While this category has the lowest level of authority, it also makes up the vast majority of the force.

Most members of the US Marine Corps are considered junior Marines. These ranks include:

  • Private
  • Private First Class
  • Lance Corporal

Marines do not earn insignia until they have reached the Private First Class level.

Non-Commissioned and Staff Non-Commissioned Officers

Non-commissioned officers are enlisted Marines who supervise junior Marines. They are seen as an important link between command and troops. Non-commissioned officers include:

  • Corporal
  • Sergeant

Staff Sergeants are considered Staff Non-Commissioned Officers. They supervise corporals and sergeants while also providing important information to commanding officers.

Five positions are above Staff Sergeants, although they only fill two US Department of Defense pay grades. The DOD E-8 pay grade includes

  • Master Sergeants
  • First Sergeants

The E-9 Military pay grade includes:

  • Master Gunnery Sergeants
  • Sergeant Majors
  • Sergeant Majors of the Marine Corps

These are the highest ranks that enlisted Marines can reach. Master Sergeants and First Sergeants are considered senior Marines. They are in control of Marine units and have several responsibilities, such as improving troop morale, overseeing disciplinary matters, and taking care of administrative duties.

Master Gunnery Sergeants and Sergeant Majors are considered leaders who specialize in specific occupational areas. A Sergeant Major of the Marine Corps has been specially chosen by the Commandant to hold this prestigious position.

Warrant Officers

Some enlisted Marines develop specialized skills that make them qualified to become warrant officers. While warrant officers have more authority than enlisted Marines, they only have power within their specific areas of expertise. Currently, there are five warrant officer grades.

Commissioned Officers

Commissioned officers serve the US Marines at the pleasure of the President. In fact, each commissioned officer carries the President’s “special trust and confidence.”

There are ten titles that commissioned officers can earn, and they have varying amounts of authority.   Second Lieutenants have the least authority and Generals have the most authority within the Marines ranking system.

1. Second Lieutenant

2. First Lieutenant

3. Captain

4. Major

Few Commissioned officers become Colonels. Very few become Generals. In fact, the US Marines can only have 60 active Generals at any given time. There can also only be 60 Lieutenant Generals, Major Generals, and Brigadier Generals active at the same time. This makes the positions incredibly competitive and helps ensure that any person occupying the rank maintains authority over Marine troops and officers.

5. Lieutenant Colonel

6. Colonel

7. Brigadier General

8. Major General

9. Lieutenant General

10. General

The rankings of US Marines can seem confusing at first, but the hierarchy becomes more obvious over time. Any recruit who goes through training will quickly learn the order of rankings to make sure they always give proper respect to anyone they encounter.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Get Your Military Degree!

Find schools and get information on the program that’s right for you. (It’s fast and free!)

Learn more about topics like:

  • Admissions
  • Expenses
  • Degrees & Programs
  • Course Schedules
  • Financial Aid
    (check to see if the school offers it and if you qualify)
  • And More…

Step 1 of 2